Meng Introduces Lunar New Year Resolution to Celebrate Year of the Ox

Feb 11, 2021
Press Release
WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Rep. Grace Meng (D-NY), First Vice Chair of the Congressional Asian Pacific American Caucus, introduced a bipartisan resolution today in the House of Representatives to recognize Lunar New Year as the Asian American community prepares to celebrate the holiday tonight, on the eve of Lunar New Year. This year, Lunar New Year falls on February 12th. 
“Lunar New Year is normally a special time for families, delicious foods, and community and cultural celebrations. Unfortunately, this year’s Lunar New Year is atypical as our nation—indeed, our world—continues to combat COVID-19. Traditional festivities, gatherings with family and friends, and other activities have been limited or gone virtual,” said Meng. “Despite this setback, I am pressing forward to honor this global holiday by introducing my resolution in the House – as we mark the Year of the Ox. A dish my family traditionally enjoys is noodle soup, which is supposed to bring luck for the year ahead. However people choose to observe this holiday, I hope that everyone stays safe and healthy, and I wish everyone luck, fortune, and happiness in the year ahead.”
Lunar New Year, which celebrates the heritage, culture, and contributions of Asian Americans, is the most significant time of the year for the Asian American community. This year will mark the Year of the Ox. 
Meng’s resolution would recognize the cultural and historical significance of Lunar New Year, and express the deepest respect for Asian Americans and all individuals throughout the world who celebrate the holiday. The measure, which details the history and customs of Lunar New Year, would also wish Asian Americans and all who observe the Lunar celebration a happy and prosperous New Year.
Meng’s resolution has 64 cosponsors: Reps. Ami Bera, M.D. (CA), Carolyn Bourdeaux (GA), Jamaal Bowman (NY), Brendan F. Boyle (PA), André Carson (IN), Ed Case (HI), Katherine Clark (MA), Yvette D. Clarke (NY), Gerald E. Connolly (VA), Jason Crow (CO), Danny K. Davis (IL), Suzan K. DelBene (WA), Anna G. Eshoo (CA), Adriano Espaillat (NY), Bill Foster (IL), John Garamendi (CA), Jimmy Gomez (CA), Al Green (TX), Steven Horsford (NV), Pramila Jayapal (WA), Hakeem Jeffries (NY), Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX), Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. (GA), Mondaire Jones (NY), Kaialiʻi Kahele (HI), Marcy Kaptur (OH), Derek Kilmer (WA), Andy Kim (NJ), Young Kim (CA), Rick Larsen (WA), Barbara Lee (CA), Susie Lee (NV), Ted W. Lieu (CA), Alan Lowenthal (CA), Carolyn B. Maloney (NY), James P. McGovern (MA), Jerry McNerney (CA), Jerrold Nadler (NY), Grace F. Napolitano (CA), Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC), Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (NY), Frank Pallone, Jr. (NJ), Donald M. Payne, Jr. (NJ), Scott Peters (CA), Jamie Raskin (MD), Deborah Ross (NC), Lucille Roybal-Allard (CA), Bobby L. Rush (IL), Michael F.Q. San Nicolas (Guam), Linda T. Sánchez (CA), Jan Schakowsky (IL), Adam Schiff (CA), Albio Sires (NJ), Abigail D. Spanberger (VA), Greg Stanton (AZ), Michelle Park Steel (CA), Marilyn Strickland (WA), Thomas R. Suozzi (NY), Mark Takano (CA), Dina Titus (NV), Ritchie Torres (NY), David Trone (MD), Nydia M. Velázquez (NY), and Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ).
A copy of the resolution can be viewed here